Posted by Don Sword on May 29, 2018
One of the purposes of the District Conference held May25-27, 2018 in St. John's was to celebrate the accomplishments of D7820 Rotary Clubs.
Clubs have until June 30th to complete enough of the goals in the four categories to be recognized with Rotary International President Ian Riseley's Rotary Citation. Since those awards will not be presented until the fall of 2018, District Governor Don Sword decided to recognize the ten (10) clubs that were currently eligible for that Citation (subject to the year end membership numbers) with a Governor's Citation!
Congratulations to the Rotary Clubs of Avalon Northeast, Clarenville, Middleton, New Minas Sunrise, Port Hawkesbury, Sackville and Area, Saint-Pierre et Miquleon, Sydney Sunrise, Truro and Wolfville Mud Creek for earning the Governor's Citation! (photo shows Mark Vardy of New Minas, Joe Twyne of Clarenvlle, Albin Girardin of St.Pierre, Adam Cooke of Port Hawkesbury and Jennifer Crummey of Avalon NE with DG Don)
It is the practice for District 7820 to name one club for the Outstanding Club of the Year Award.  There are so many great clubs, doing extraordinary things, that the choice is very hard.  
The criteria for the award says the successful club must be eligible for the RI Presidential Pitation and have shown an increase in membership during the year. Then they may be judged on their membership development, service projects, support of the Rotary Foundation and service beyond the club.  In the end the DG makes a decision and the award is made at the time of the District Conference.
Any one of these ten clubs would be a very worthy recipient, but the Award for Outstanding Club of the Year for 2017-18 in D7820 was presented to the Rotary Club of Middleton. President Michael Fairn was in attendance to proudly accept the Award on behalf of the Club.